One of the most famous places of worship in Tulcea, Cocos monastery is located 6 kilometers away from the town Niculiţel and about 35 kilometers west of Tulcea. Led by monks, the monastery has as patrons Cocos Pentecost (big church) and St. Nicholas (chapel).
Cocos Monastery was founded in 1833 by three Romanian monks of Mount Athos come Visarion (former hieromonk Neamt Monastery) Gherontie and Jesse.
Positioned in a secluded spot at the foot of a hill, Cocos monastery talked about the first time in 1679 when the first documentary, was the existence of a monastery of hermits, invasions sacked weather.
A long time ago, on the hill near the monastery was heard, one night, singing a wild rooster, accompanied by a beating chop, hence the name may come to the place of worship. The monks say they still hear this song.
The monastery was severely affected by the 1940 earthquake and fire in July 1947, when burned steeple and bells melted, and was restored between 1954-1956 and 1957-1959.
In 1971, the municipality Niculiţel, near the monastery, archaeological excavations have brought to light a crypt that housed the relics of four martyrs, they are, in fact, first discovered in our country: Zoticos, Attali Kamasis and Philippos.
After two years of Discover, Orthodox Church Synod decided that the relics of four saints be submitted in four shrines Cocos Monastery.
Currently, Cocos monastery has an important collection of religious books, gathered from all parishes in Tulcea County, and a museum with old icons and religious artifacts.